Laos Government

The Leadership structure
Approved June 15, 2011 (7th Legistature)


  1. Mr Choummaly Sayasone, President
  2. Mr Bounnhang Vorachit, Vice President


Government cabinet

    Laos Government structure
    Structure of the goverment of Laos
    (source: Vientiane Times)
    Click the image to open PDF in new window

  1. Mr Thongsing Thammavong, Prime Minister
  2. Mr Asang Laoly, Deputy Prime Minister
  3. Dr Thongloun Sisoulith, Deputy PM and Foreign Minister
  4. Lieutenant General Douangchay Phichit, Deputy PM
  5. Mr Somsavat Lengsavad, Deputy PM
  6. Mr Bounthong Chitmany, President of the Government Inspection Authority and Head of the Anti-Corruption Organisation
  7. Dr Phankham Viphavanh, Minister of Education and Sports
  8. Dr Thongbanh Seng-aphone, Minister of Public Security
  9. Ms Onechanh Thammavong, Minister of Labour and Social Welfare
  10. Dr Chaleun Yiapaoher, Minister of Justice
  11. Mr Soulivong Daravong, Minister of Energy and Mines
  12. Ms Bounpheng Mounphosay, Minister to the Prime Minister's Office
  13. Mr Vilayvanh Phomkhe, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry
  14. Dr Sinlavong Khoutphaythoune, Minister and Head of Prime Minister's Office
  15. Dr Nam Vinhaket, Minister of Industry and Commerce
  16. Mr Sommad Pholsena, Minister of Public Works and Transport
  17. Mr Somdy Douangdy, Minister of Planning and Investment
  18. Mr Phouphet Khamphounvong, Minister of Finance
  19. Prof. Dr Bosengkham Vongdara, Minister of Information, Culture and Tourism
  20. Prof. Dr Eksavang Vongvichit, Minister of Health
  21. Mr Bounheuang Douangphachanh, Minister to the Prime Minister's Office
  22. Mr Khampane Philavong, Minister of the Interior
  23. Prof. Dr Bountiem Phissamay, Minister to the Prime Minister's Office
  24. Dr DouangsavathSouphanouvong, Minister to the Prime Minister's Office
  25. Mrs Khempheng Pholsena, Minister to the Prime Minister's Office
  26. Prof. Dr Boviengkham Vongdara, Minister of Science and Technology
  27. Mr Noulinh Sinbandhit, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment
  28. Mr Hiem Phommachanh, Minister of Post, Telecom and Communication
  29. Mr Somphao Phaysith, Governor of the Bank of the Lao PDR

National Assembly

  1. Ms Pany Yathortou, President
  2. Dr Xaysomphone Phomvihane, Vice President
  3. Mr Somphanh Phengkhammy, Vice President
  4. Prof. Davone Vangvichit, President of Law Committee
  5. Dr Souvanpheng Bouphanouvong, President of Economics, Planning and Finance Committee
  6. Prof. Dr Phonethep Pholsena, President of Cultural and Social Affairs Committee
  7. Mr Douangdy Oudthachak, President of Ethnic Affairs Committee
  8. Police Brigadier General Vilay Douangmany, President of National Defence and Security Committee
  9. Dr Koukeo Akkhamounty, President of Foreign Relations Committee
  10. Dr Ounkeo Vouthirath, Office Head of National Assembly

Judiciary Body

  1. Mr Khamphanh Sitthidampha, President of People's Supreme Court
  2. Mr Khamsane Souvong, President of the Public Prosecutor Office

The Government Bodies

  1. Prime Minister's Office
  2. Ministry of National Defence
  3. Ministry of Public Security
  4. Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  5. Ministry of Justice
  6. Ministry of Interior (New ministry)
  7. Government Inspection Authority
  8. Ministry of Education and sports
  9. Ministry of Health
  10. Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism
  11. Ministry of Labour and Social Welfare
  12. Ministry of Planning and Investment
  13. Ministry of Finance
  14. Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
  15. Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment (New ministry)
  16. Ministry of Energy and Mine
  17. Ministry of Industry and Commerce
  18. Ministry of Public Works and Transport
  19. Ministry of Science and Technology (New ministry)
  20. Ministry of Post, Telecom and Communication (New ministry)
  21. Bank of the Lao PDR
Search the WWW


Home | What's New | Contact Us | Link to us | Resources | Disclaimer