Laos Holidays

Lao Public Holidays 2017

The list of Lao public holidays below shows both official and non-official, but widely observed, Lao public holidays which are considered significant as some businesses, embassies in Laos and Lao government offices might be closed on these days.

 

Government offices, banks, international organizations, embassies, NGOs and private companies have different lists of holidays. The official Laos public holidays commonly observed by most (if not all) entities are underlined.

On these public holidays government offices are shut as are businesses and banks, so make sure all your visa needs or travel arrangements are not urgent, particularly over the Pi Mai Lao (Lao New Year) holiday in April. If the holidays fall on a weekend day, often the Monday following will be the designated holiday.

List of 2017 Public Holidays in Laos

arrow Internation New Year's Day
The first day of the year according to Western calendar
Sunday, 1 January 2017 (Monday, 2 January Sub. holiday)

arrow National Millitary Day
Celebrates the founding of the Lao People's Army in 1949.
Friday, 20 January 2017

arrow Chinese/Vietnamese Lunar New Year
Celebrates Chinese/Vietnamese New Year
Friday, 27 January 2017

arrow International Women's Day
Honors women in Lao society
Wednesday, 8 March 2017

 

arrow Lao People's Revolutionary Party Day
Celebrates the ruling Lao People's Revolutionary Party and all its works
Wednesday, 22 March 2017

arrow Lao New Year (Pi Mai Lao)
Celebrate Lao Lunar New Year
Friday, Saturday, and Sunday 14,15 and 16 April 2017 (Monday, 17 Sub. Holiday)

arrow International Labour Day
Celebrates the international labour movement
Monday, 1 May 2017

arrow International Children's Day and National Tree Planting Day
Thursday, 1 June 2017

arrow Boun Khao Phansa (Buddhist Lent Festival) » Read more
Celebrates the begining of Buddhist Lent
Saturday, 9 July 2017

arrow Lao National Women's day
Thursday, 20 July 2017

arrow National Constitution Day
Tuesday, 15 August 2017

arrow Boat Racing Festival in Luang Prabang
Monday, 21 August 2017 (Same day as Boun Hor Khao Padubdin Festival (Buddhist Lent) that is observed through out Laos)

arrow Boun Hor Khao Salak Festival - observed through out Laos (Buddhist Lent)
Tuesday, 5 September 2017

arrow Boun Awk Pansa » Read More
Celebrates the end of Buddhist Lent and the end of rainy season
Thursday 5 October 2017

arrow Boat Racing Festival in Vientiane » Read more
Celebrates the end of Buddhist Lent, the end of rainy season and to thank the mother of rivers for providing water for our lives.
Saturday, 6 October 2017

arrow National Teacher's Day
Commemorates all teachers through out the country
Sunday, 7 October 2017 (Monday, 8 October Sub. holiday)

arrow Independence Day
Celebrates victory (end of war in 1975)
Thursay, 12 October 2017

arrow That Luang Festival » Read more
Pilgrimage to That Luang Stupa in Vientiane
Friday, 3 November 2017

arrow Lao National Day
Celebrates the establishment of the Lao People's Democratic Republic in 1975
Saturday, 2 December 2017 (Monday, 6 December Sub. holiday)

Note: Variation may occur because some holidays are based on Buddhist calendar.

Happy Lao Holidays!

Interesting places around the world

Untitled Document

luxery hotel pool
Absolute luxery relaxation

 

Untitled Document

Nice spot for vacation
Nice vacation

Untitled Document

amazing location and nice view
Amazing location and beautiful views

  Untitled Document

great view
What a spectacular view

 

 

Home | What's New | Contact Us | Link to us | Resources | Disclaimer